This forum software has now been archived into static HTML page (i.e. it does not function as a working forum anymore, so you cannot login.)

In due course a new forum will be available to help support newer CamStudio versions.

Sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.

'Actual Input Rate' Very Low

I'm new to CamStudio, so bear with me. Through this forum and YT vids, I've managed to get CamStudio past several initial problems. However, one problem persists and I don't have a clue how to fix it.

Environment:
* CamStudio v2.6 r294
* Windows 7 Home 64-bit
* Intel i5 760 CPU with 4 GB of memory
* ATI Radeon HD 4550 adapter
* Jawor's xvid codecs

I've run tests with only Task Manager and CamStudio running. Results are disappointing, for example:

CPU Usage, Memory Usage, SKE/CFE/PBR, Actual Input Rate
--------------------------------------------------
20%, 47%, 20/5/200, 13 fps
20%, 45%, 20/25/40, 9 fps

I've tried capturing full screen, window, and region, with audio recording on and off, without a great difference in the results. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Clayton

Comments

• edited October 2012
    This has been bugging me as well, so I finally did some tests and more than doubled my actual capture rate.

The biggest secret was in changing the monitor screen resolution to 16-bit instead of the default 32-bit color. 16-bit is the "16 million colors" setting we all used to know and love before 32 bit came along. 32-bit color actually is 24-bit color with an additional 8-bit alpha channel that controls transparency (used for transparency effects in Aero). In 16-bit color, you sacrifice the transparency effects, but I would challenge you to see the color difference except in extremely flat colored regions with very subtle gradients in them.

I made a video and uploaded it to YouTube to show the test and where I made the change. Find it below or in this playlist: