This forum software has now been archived into static HTML page (i.e. it does not function as a working forum anymore, so you cannot login.)

In due course a new forum will be available to help support newer CamStudio versions.

Sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.

Success Stories?

As a college instructor, I have been using SnagIt's Recording feature to create short tutorial videos for my chemistry classes. The problem is that the files are so large that even for 20 to 30-second avi files, file size is hard to keep under 20 MB! The good aspect of this is that it forces me to keep my tutorials extremely concise and occasionally results in greater clarity than if I had more time. I am compensating somewhat on the file size problem by uploading my files to Dropbox (which gives me up to 2 GB free storage), which I have linked to my Q and A learning platform, http://www.Piazza.com for my students' use. I have been recording my scribblings and diagrams using my Bamboo tablet pen as I write on Microsoft's 2010 OneNote white screen. This process works very well and gives good quality videos, but I am limited by the file size.

I saw this video online about how to use CamStudio: (jimmyr). I followed it very closely, and thought I could use it to successfully download and configure CamStudio 2b. The glitches I encountered - not finding DivX [discovering that its download was full of surprises (unexpected required pluggins)], unresponsiveness by CamStudio (I couldn't even get it to open sometimes); its jerkiness during recording (flickering of the screen, lags in production of my images, other) finally led me to uninstall it.

I'd appreciate "hearing" from others who have successfully used CamStudeo, any version, for the type of uses I have attempted.

Thanks,

Erik

Comments

• There are success stories all over this forum, plus I have responded to many issues folks have had and we have solved them in most cases.