This forum software has now been archived into static HTML page (i.e. it does not function as a working forum anymore, so you cannot login.)

In due course a new forum will be available to help support newer CamStudio versions.

Sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.

Problem with Xvid codec (using version 2.7)

edited March 2013 in Support
Hi all, I'm new here and am a total noob at using camtudio or video recording in general so please bear with me.

I have a problem recording a video using the xvid codec which I downloaded from Doom 9's forum (Gordian Knot Codec Pack 1.9). It installed a lot of different programs (div x, xvid, ffd). I tried recording using the xvid codec since it seems to be quite highly recommended on here.

Anyway, it recorded fine and the audio was great but the only problem I seem to be getting is that the video is jerky. The image quality is rather good but the frame seems to freeze for like a second or so before skipping to another frame and so on.. My settings were:

Set Key Frames every 100 frames
Capture Frames every 1 millisecond
Playback rate 1000frames/sec

Under Xvid configuration:
Profile @ level AS@L5
Encoding type: Single pass
Target bitrate: 8000kbps

I also set my video to a fixed region of 752x580. In addition, I wanted to point out that when I press the record button, a popup window named "Xvid status" appears but it is totally grey/blank. However, Cam Studio still continues to record and I can playback the video, except that it is jerky/choppy. I use VLC media player to play.

My goal is really to record high quality videos which run smoothly (hopefully better than Microsoft Video 1) but which takes up less space than Microsoft Video 1 (the files were too huge and would exceed the 2GB limit in just 10 mins or so)..