This forum software has now been archived into static HTML page (i.e. it does not function as a working forum anymore, so you cannot login.)

In due course a new forum will be available to help support newer CamStudio versions.

Sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.

Audio - turns to static after 20 seconds of play

edited January 2013 in Support
Hey there - I'm a new CamStudio user. In fact, I'm new to the world of screen recording. I'm also NOT a techie geek. So, if you respond, please keep the lingo in English!!! :)
Here's my problem. When first recording my screen, I used my laptop speakers to pick up my voice. I sounded like I was in a tunnel. Even tho there wasn't any background noise. So, I quickly purchased a microphone from Amazon. It came, I plugged it in, and recorded once again. The first 20 seconds of my recording was awesome, and I was thrilled. But then the audio filled with static. Even after I sent the video to Windows Movie Maker, the audio was filled with static at the 20 second mark. I thought maybe there was a fix.
So, I downloaded a different screen recording software, thinking maybe it was a glitch in CamStudio. Well....it did it in that software also.
I'm coming back here with my question, as I really like the ease of use in CS, and would prefer for this software to work.
Is there something I'm doing wrong, or is it simply the microphone I purchased?

Comments

• I've never heard of such a thing! Why 20 seconds good??? Hmmmm....

What mic is it? Could it be some kind of power-saving settings? Look in the device manage to make sure "Allow Windows to shut off this device to save power" is unchecked, perhaps.

Terry