This forum software has now been archived into static HTML page (i.e. it does not function as a working forum anymore, so you cannot login.)

In due course a new forum will be available to help support newer CamStudio versions.

Sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.

Problems with video codecs

edited June 2011 in General Discussion
I’m totally new to Cam Studio, so please bear with my complete lack of knowledge.

I installed 2.6 on my old XP computer (which does not actually have the resource to capture much of anything) for a try. When I checked what codecs were available, I noticed there were few, and none that I really wanted to use (huffyuv, etc.). I have the K-Lite full package installed, so I thought there should be more available. I then uninstalled the K-Lite codecs and checked the Cam Studios choices and was surprised that there was no change. I then re-installed the K-Lite package, using their software to install and register, and once again, there was no change in the choice of codecs in Cam Studios.

The next thing I tried was downloading and installing on our newer Vista computer, which also has the K-Lite full package installed. This time there were even fewer codecs available in CS, and the only one which would save a file was the default video compressor, which produced a 2 GB file from 6 minutes of capture, and would not play on any player on that computer. G Spot says it has “no header”.

So, what am I doing wrong? I suspect there’s something I just don’t get here, but I haven’t a clue at this point.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Comments

• bmoreken,