This forum software has now been archived into static HTML page (i.e. it does not function as a working forum anymore, so you cannot login.)

In due course a new forum will be available to help support newer CamStudio versions.

Sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.

Need better understanding of codecs

edited August 2008 in General Discussion
I'm a long-time developer but I am relatively new to A/V recording. I think of a codec as a driver that sits between a capture device and the target file. If the codec supports some feature like a certain fps setting then that's translated to the file. But I don't understand how closely that relates to the codec that viewers need to see the file. I look at that like compression where there are a ton of options like zip, rar, etc, and image types like gif, jpeg, png, etc. - and we all know that the application that opens these files needs to use the same format as the app used to create them.

What I don't understand is how universal some of these codecs are. My first attempt at using the CS codec resulted in a "write-only" file because the target system didn't have the CS codec. Unlike FLV, AVI, WMV and other file types, I think it's asking a bit much to ask people to install the CS codec to view files. So I see this codec as only being used to create material that will be consumed by people you know.

DivX and Xvid are very popular among people who create vids, but I'm not sure how universal they are among typical user/consumers. I don't want to have to tell people to download the DivX codec (run the installer, don't install the player, and ignore the offer to install a browser toolbar...). I can edit files created in CS using Windows Movie Maker. That creates a WMV which is fairly universal for Windows users anyway, but with this I'm concerned about file size and quality.