This forum software has now been archived into static HTML page (i.e. it does not function as a working forum anymore, so you cannot login.)

In due course a new forum will be available to help support newer CamStudio versions.

Sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.

problem getting Premier Elements to recognize CamStudio output

edited December 2014 in Support
First of all; congratulations on a great product. I have been using CamStudio for a couple of months and have completed a number of videos (many are 30 minutes, two are 50 minutes long) and uploaded them to Vimeo. They look absolutely fabulous in full screen 1080p.

Recently, I discovered that I needed to do some minor editing to a couple of the videos. In one case I needed to remove 20 seconds of dead air, in the other, I need to insert an additional 30-40 seconds of video in the middle of an existing clip.

Since I am new to video, but extremely comfortable with Adobe products from my photography work, I purchased Adobe Premier Elements (their basic video editor) since my edits seemed to be pretty basic.

Imagine my surprise when Premier Elements would not open the AVI file frm CamStudio. I found a video/audio converter (Brorsoft) that I am testing and it does a fine job of converting the video to a format that PE can read.

It would make life easier for me if my output file frm Cam Studio could be read directly by Premier Elements. I am currently using the XVID MPEG-4 codec that you recommended.

The documentation on Premier Elements indicates that it will accept an .avi file as input!

Do you have any suggestions?

Thank you

John McBay

Comments

• Premier and Vegas typically can’t open any type of 264 in an AVI wrapper. Seth B offered this solution in a thread some time ago:

“”“Vegas can't decode x264 in an AVI wrapper. But, it does just fine with x264 in an MP4 wrapper.